Billing & Subscriptions

NodeBeagle requires an active subscription. Understand how billing and subscriptions work on the platform in this section.

How the billing process works

NodeBeagle offers two service levels for your devices that offer different functionality and reporting: Standard and Pro.

Each device can have its own service level - known as its plan. The cost for each plan can be calculated either hourly or monthly.

Learn about the differences of each plan and billing interval on the “Which to choose” page.

Hourly Billing

Devices on an hourly plan (here-after called hourly-billing devices) accumulate a cost for every hour they exist on your account. You don’t pay any fee upfront. We will bill the costs incurred on your subscription's renewal date on the following month - i.e. it is billed in arrears.

If you cancel your subscription before the renewal date, any incurred usage will be charged immediately.

Monthly Billing

Devices on a monthly plan (here-after called monthly-billing devices) are charged a fixed fee upfront on the renewal date of your subscription. This is a monthly commitment, so the fee is the same whether they exist on your account for 1 hour, 15 days or the entire month.

When adding a new monthly-billing device onto an existing subscription, you pay a pro-rated fee for the first month - from the day you sign up until your next renewal date. NodeBeagle will tell you the cost of the pro-rated fee will be before you add the device and it will be billed immediately.

If you cancel a monthly-billing device part-way through a month, you will not receive a refund. You can choose to cancel a device at the end of the current billing period to allow you to use the full service paid for, or to cancel it immediately and forfeit any unused service.

Which plan to choose: Standard or Pro?

NodeBeagle offers a choice of two service levels (known as plans) to manage your devices: Standard or Pro.

Each plan offers differing functionality and reporting capabilities. Which should you choose?

We recommend the Standard plan for workstations and laptops, or servers that are used for development or testing environments.

We recommend the Pro plan for production or staging servers, or any other device that provides public, Internet-facing services, such as web or mail servers.

The differences between each plan are described in the table below.

Feature Standard Pro
Collect top-level statistics (CPU, memory, disk stats) Yes Yes
Run remote commands Yes Yes
Install, upgrade and remove packages remotely Yes Yes
Configure resource alerts (e.g. high CPU usage, low disk space) (coming soon) Yes Yes
Collect deep statistics (process-level) (coming soon) No Yes
Collect statistics from external applications (e.g. Apache, MySQL) (coming soon) No Yes
Check-in (ping) interval 1 minute 1 minute
Command execution interval 1 minute 1 minute
Data collection interval 5 minutes 1 minute
Data retention period 90 days 1 year
Alert notification methods (coming soon) E-mail, SMS E-mail, SMS, Twitter DM
Reporting granularity (coming soon) Device Process

Cancelling your subscription

We hope that you enjoy using NodeBeagle and won’t need to cancel your subscription. If you do want to cancel, we’ve got you covered.

You can cancel your subscription at any time. We do not require any notice period, however all cancellations are subject to the below actions and policies. Should you wish to discuss your plan or cancellation, please raise a ticket prior to cancelling.

You manage your subscription in the Billing tab of My Account. Here you have two options for cancelling:

Disable auto-renewal

We bill all subscriptions monthly on the date they were originally created (or the date the free trial lapsed. Each month’s invoice includes the previous month’s usage of hourly-billing devices, and the next month’s fixed fee for monthly-billing devices.

By disabling auto-renewal, your service and devices will remain the same (i.e. active) until the end of the month. This allows you the full month’s service you have paid for (on monthly-billing devices.)

Hourly-billing devices will still accrue charges until the end of the subscription. To prevent this, delete the hourly-billed devices.

At the next renewal, we will:

Cancel subscription

Choosing to cancel your subscription (and not just disabling auto-renewal) will process the cancellation the same day.

With this option, you choose to forfeit any unused time on monthly-billing devices that are part-way through the month.